top of page
  • Writer's pictureMosaic 2018

Day 5: June 15, 2018 - Emily Hung

It’s only been one week and I have learned so much from Mosaic about newsroom norms and legal rights when interviewing or taking pictures of people.


I conducted three interviews with four people in a span of two days for the article I’m writing. I ran around Downtown San Jose, Google Maps in hand to direct me to the YWCA, but I took a wrong turn and had to reroute. Thankfully, I still arrived 15 minutes early because I left the newsroom way ahead of time since I knew I would get lost. I also interviewed a high school student at Oak Grove High School at a McDonalds. I questioned him about this experiences at Walk a Mile In Her Shoes and he showed me what type of shoes he would be wearing at the event this year. Afterward, we had a photoshoot right on the street outside the McDonalds where he showed off the one high heel he borrowed from his mom. He brought one heel because he didn’t want to bring the other one. Mya took many pictures of him before Karl came to get us—only after getting lost himself. Luckily, he eventually

found us.


Since I’ve turned in the first draft of my article, the people sitting around me have been talking about the most interesting nonsense. Did you know that apparently when Asian parents don’t know what to name their kid, they throw a pot down the stairs and ding-a-ling they have their inspiration.


When I went out to lunch today with Mya, we saw Sarah in her flip-flops and Berenice with her heavy 30 pound camera sprinting to a nearby place for an interview. Compared to the cameras I use at school, the cameras here are extremely heavy. It’s like lifting weights.


Sal has edited my article and I’ve been making edits to my story. I’m writing about how Silicon Valley has been showing support for victims of sexual harassment, sexual assault and violence. I’ve been specifically looking into Walk a Mile In Her Shoes, an event that will be happening next Wednesday, June 20 from 5-7 p.m. at Santana Row. If you read this before then, catch me there!

bottom of page