top of page
  • Writer's pictureMosaic 2018

Day 2: June 12, 2018 - Benji Herrera



Today I was hoping it would be a ride just like yesterday, and I was not disappointed. I woke up this morning excited to see the new friends I met at Mosaic yesterday, but I had a little bit of a hassle in the morning as I was thinking I would come late. Thankfully I didn’t and I met up with everyone on time. I brought my guitar in hopes of seeing the musical talents of my Mosaic peers and I was amazed at some of the talent in the room. There is so much more to learn and these people inspired me to really get better at guitar.


We ate breakfast and talked about the news, but this time we had questions to find answers for. I got a few of the questions but I was amazed at how some students actually got every single one of the answers. How were they able to read everything in such a short time span? How did they know where to look?


After breakfast we took a few notes relating to journalism and how to get rid of our bias. It was also about how we have to appeal to our audience and really get them to read our pieces. We finished the presentation and afterward we had an inspirational speaker come talk to us and give us tips about writing. He was very wise and funny, cracking jokes about the way he acted. He also talked about how people would change their behavior around him, such as banning the use of the word “ boy.” The guest speaker’s name was David Early and I am forever grateful for his talk.


After his talk we went to lunch. We went as a group to La Vics (La Victoria Taqueria) and I got myself a huge super burrito with carne asada. We ate on the second floor while talking about our experiences and asking question about journalism. We also talked about our struggles with journalism and talked about a few solutions.


When the meal was done, we went back to the newsroom and starting working on our stories. That's when Shauli said, “You mind if I steal you guitar for a bit?” I said “Sure” and he just started going off on it. He starting playing riffs from really popular songs that are heartwarming. He had the stage. It was amazing and I think many of the people who heard him were as impressed as I was.


Today has been all around a good day, and I can't wait to see what Mosaic has in store for us in the next two weeks.

bottom of page